Loading Events


The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Online Household Access - Music, Home & Heritage
All ticket sales proceeds go to the musicians
£ 10.00
You can buy individual tickets for each event or purchase a series ticket to access all 6 concerts.

We’re delighted, as ever, to welcome back The English Concert’s founder Trevor Pinnock to direct this programme, which brings together some of the finest instrumental music by Henry Purcell and George Frideric Handel.

Following the Glorious Revolution of 1688, Purcell found himself increasingly in demand as a composer for the stage. He produced a large body of highly imaginative and original incidental music, for plays by London’s foremost dramatists. Following his death, much of this was published in A Collection of Ayres, Compos’d for the Theatre, and upon Other Occasions (1697), making it available for performances in the home. For this concert, Trevor has specially constructed a suite of some of Purcell’s best theatrical music, including his music for the comedies The Gordian Knot Unty’d, The Old Batchelor, and The Married Beau, or the Curious Impertinent.

This is heard alongside two of Handel’s outstanding trio sonatas, from his Opus 2 and Opus 5 collections. This latter publication repurposed much of the best instrumental music Handel composed for his London operas, including Athalia and Parnasso in festa, adapting it to a format that would have been readily suitable for domestic performance.

So join The English Concert from the comfort of your own home, as we bring the theatre to you!


Purcell Suite of theatre music

Overture ( C major) Bonduca
Air (G minor)
Butterfly Dance from Dioclesian
Hornpipe on a ground from The Married Beau
Minuet from The Double Dealer
Chaconne from King Arthur

Featured Artists

The English Concert
Trevor Pinnock Harpsichord
Nadja Zwiener , Tuomo Suni Violins
Alfonso Leal del Ojo Viola
Joe Crouch Cello